609.52, theft occurs when a person “intentionally and without claim of right takes, uses, transfers, conceals or retains possession of movable property of another without the other’s consent and with the intent to deprive the owner permanently of possession of property”.
Minnesota Statutes 609.24 Simple Robbery describes robbery as the act of knowingly taking personal property in the presence of the person or another and using threats that indicate the use of force against the person with the aim of overcoming their resistance to comply with the acquiescence in taking away their possessions. The guilty party should be sentenced to imprisonment that is not more than ten years or payment of fine not more than $20,000 or both.
Minnesota Statutes 609.245 categorizes Aggravated robbery into two subdivisions:
- Subdivision 1: First degree Aggravated robbery
This describes the act of robbery, where the robber is armed with a dangerous weapon or any other item made or intentionally used to make the victim believe that it is a dangerous weapon, or it harms the other. The person in possession of such tools or hurts the subject is guilty of aggregated robbery in the first degree. The guilty person can be sentenced to imprisonment for not more than 20 years or made to pay a fine of not more than $35,000 or both
- Subdivision 2: Second degree of aggregated robbery
This defines a guilty individual as the person who commits robbery by the use of the word, act, or possession of a dangerous weapon. This individual may be sentenced to not more than 15 years or made to make a payment fine of not more than $30,000, or both.