How Four Noble Truths Teaching Addresses Suffering

Subject: Religion
Pages: 2
Words: 296
Reading time:
< 1 min

The teaching of the Four Noble Truths does not only explain the meaning of suffering and its origin but introduces the ways how one can stop it. The end of pain is called “cessation” and is addressed in the third and the fourth truths. Given the fact that the core of suffering is desire, it is possible to assume that the satisfaction of one’s desires would lead to the end of suffering. However, desire fulfillment will lead to attachment, and, as the Buddhist teaching states, any kind of attachment is suffering. Thus, the solution to the problem lies in absolute refusal from any kind of desire fulfillment which is called nirvana. Such an uncompromising approach justifies the aim of the Buddhist path, which is in achieving nirvana as the “absence of craving.” Having experienced the stage of nirvana, a person is free of desires, selfishness, and greed, thus becomes unrestricted by suffering and pain in life.

Nirvana provides the theoretical basis for the further practical way of cessation of the suffering presented in the fourth truth. The way leading to the end of suffering consists of eight stages that are described in the Buddhist texts. They include “right view, right intention, right Four Truths speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness, right concentration.” Abiding by these rules of existence, an individual is capable of being free of suffering and experience the essence of true existence. Thus, suffering is a problem for those who are limited to their selfish desires and fail to recognize the four undeniable truths. According to the teaching of Buddhism, there is a way to end suffering by achieving nirvana and following the eight steps consisting of thoughtful deeds that lead to selfless existence.