The Pillars of Eemaan and Islam: Hajj and Salah

Subject: Religion
Pages: 2
Words: 328
Reading time:
2 min

The pillars of belief (Eemaan) are the principles lying at the root of the whole Muslim culture. The first pillar is the belief in the oneness of God; it is the foundation principle. The second pillar is connected with the existence of angels who are depicted as invisible beings with an intellect that can take the form of humans. The third pillar is the belief in five holy books guiding humanity. The belief in the Messengers, to whom these Holy Scriptures were revealed, is the fourth principle. These people had the mission to convey God’s message to others, guide and educate people, and serve as an example for them. Besides, Muslims believe in Hereafter (the existence of Heaven and Hell) and Day of Judgment. Islam is also based on the idea of destiny and that Allah controls everything that happens in life.

There are also five pillars of Islam that should be accepted by every practitioner. Shahadah is the first worship and the declaration of faith, and Salah (Prayer) is the central and most visible act of worship. Sawn is annual fasting in the ninth month of the Islamic calendar. Zakah (Charity) is the act of purification of wealth by giving the poor a certain part of savings. Finally, Hajj (Pilgrimage) is the act of obedience and cleaning one’s sins.

Hajj and Salah take a special place in Islam and give it unique significance. In life, people often find themselves in specific circumstances where they desperately need the help of religion. A prayer is a daily act in Islam, which aims at connecting with God. Prayer purifies one’s soul, gives confidence and hope. Pilgrimage is the representation of brotherhood and overall equality, as pilgrims are wearing the same clothes, and no wealth, status, or race is visible. It is the reminder that all people are equal in front of Allah, whom they are believed to face one day.